Treasurer of
Buchanan County

County Population:
Population Ranking:
Outline of the County

The treasurer is responsible for the receipt, management, disbursement, and investment of all monies paid to the County and serves as agent for the State of Iowa Department of Transportation and Iowa Department of Revenue and Finance.                                        For a complete list of duties, please visit:  Iowa Code 331.552.

"We are committed to serving you efficiently as possible and providing you with excellent customer service.  We must comply with the Iowa Code, and within those guidelines it is our goal to be able to assist you the first time you enter our office. "


                            Link to Motor Vehicle Forms

                            New Minor School License Form


Visit the Buchanan County website for frequently asked questions!

Amy Wright

Amy Wright

Took office on 2/11/2013


Buchanan County Treasurer's Office
210 5th Ave NE
PO Box 319
Independence, IA 50644

The courthouse is located on Hwy 150 North- Just North of Kwik Star.


Driver's Licnese Hours:

Monday - Friday        8:00AM - 4:00PM

Daily Testing Hours   8:00AM- 3:30PM

Drive Tests are scheduled by appointment only.

Any changes in operation hours will be posted on our Facebook page.  Like us on Facebook.

Taxes, Titles, and Registration

Monday - Friday        8:00AM - 4:30PM


Our office will be closed at Noon on December 31st and June 30th; If this falls on a weekend we will be closed the prior Friday.  This closure is for balancing end of the year books.

Contact Info


Tax Department: 319-334-4340
Motor Vehicle Department: 319-334-2005
Driver's License Department: 319-334-7456


Fax: 319-334-7454



Office Staff

Tax Deputy - Barbara
Motor Vehicle Deputy - Tammy
Driver License Deputy - Diana
Driver License Clerk - Amber
Clerk - Heather
Clerk - Michelle

Email Questions, Concerns or Comments to Amy Wright at:


Our office will be closed on the Following Holidays:

  • New Year's Day
  • Presidents' Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veteran's Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day

Our office will close at Noon on the Following Holidays:

  • Good Friday
  • Christmas Eve