Treasurer of
Clayton County

County Population:
18,129
Population Ranking:
39th
Outline of the County

Welcome to Iowa Tax and Tags

Enjoy the convenience of paying online - it is easy, safe and fast!

Accepted Payment Types:

  • eCheck (electronic funds transfer), Discover Card, Master Card, American Express, and Visa via the internet and over-the-counter. Additional fees will be applied to the total due.
  • A $20.00 returned check fee will be charged for checks and echecks returned for insufficient funds.

Property Taxes Paid Online

  • Have your tax statement available while making payment. If you do not have a statement, you can locate your statement at http://beacon.schneidercorp.com
  • Tax Sale Redemptions can NOT be paid through this site.  Please inquire at 563-245-1807.

Motor Vehicle Renewals Paid Online

  • A PIN number is required. You can locate your PIN number in the upper right hand corner of your renewal notice or by contacting our office.
  • Online service is NOT available if proof of SR22 insurance is required or any state debts are owed.
  • Half year license, apportioned vehicles and firemen plates are NOT eligible for online renewal at this time.

 Parcel Information Website  http://beacon.schneidercorp.com

  • The Beacon website contains sales information, assessed values, tax payment history and a copy of your current tax statement.  You may also find soil reports and maps.

***** 2014 TAX SALE INFORMATION *****

Linda Zuercher

Linda Zuercher

Took office on 11/13/2012

Location

Clayton County Treasurer's Office

Taxes & Motor Vehicle Services

Courthouse

111 High St. NE

P.O.Box 417

Elkader, IA 52043

Clayton County Driver's License Office

County Office Building

600 Gunder Road NE, Suite #4

Elkader, IA 52043

Hours

Taxes & Motor Vehicle Office Hours:

Courthouse

Monday-Friday

8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 

Driver License Issuance:

County Office Building

Monday-Friday

8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Written tests:  8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Drive tests: Appointments preferred

Contact Info

Taxes & Motor Vehicle

Phone:  563-245-1807
Fax:  563-245-1808

Treasurer - Linda Zuercher   lzuercher@claytoncountyia.gov

Deputy Treasurer - Diane Collins  dcollins@claytoncountyia.gov
Motor Vehicle Deputy - Jane Wilke  jwilke@claytoncountyia.gov

 

Driver's License Office

Phone:  563-245-3200
Fax:  563-245-3201

Driver License Deputies -
Larita Hamlett  lhamlett@claytoncountyia.gov
Maureen Schroeder  mschroeder@claytoncountyia.gov
Cathy White            cwhite@claytoncountyia.gov
Sandy Ashline  sashline@claytoncountyia.gov

Holidays

  • New Year's Day
  • President's Day
  • Good Friday
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day and Day after
  • Christmas Eve Day and Christmas Day