When is a title required for a vehicle?
All motor vehicles, mobile homes, travel trailers, regular trailers, and semi-trailers must be titled (exception: regular and semi-trailers with an empty weight of 2,000 lbs. or less are only registered).
How do I apply for a lost or replacement title?
Complete form 411033 Application for Replacement of Iowa Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle. The application must be signed by all owners. If there is an open lien on the vehicle, the application will need to be signed by the lien holder.
If there is an open lien on the title, but the lien holder does not have an interest in the vehicle any longer, they may complete a separate notarized Cancellation of Security Interest 411168. A letter from the security interest holder on their letterhead paper is acceptable if it has the following information: make, year, VIN, owners name(s) and address, and the letter must be notarized.
Once the application is received either in person or by mail there is a mandatory 5-day waiting period before the replacement title is issued. The fee for a replacement title is $25.00.
Where can I transfer the title for my new vehicle?
You are required to transfer the title on your new vehicle in your county of residence.
How do I sell a vehicle that has more than one owner listed on the title?
Vehicles with more than one owner carry the words "and" or "or" on the face of the title. Each of these name connectors means something different (see Admin Code 761--400.14(321)).
If the name connector "and" appears, then all owners that are listed on the title will have to sign as sellers when the vehicle is sold.
If the name connector "or" appears, then only one of the owners listed on the face of the title will need to sign as the seller when the vehicle is sold. All owners of the vehicle must sign the application form when applying for a replacement title or junking certificate, regardless of the name connector.
If the vehicle purchased or sold is 10 years old or older, what do I need to do?
To ensure all documents are completed correctly read both seller and buyer responsibilities. All documents are to be completed in dark ink.
The seller shall complete the "Assignment of Title" section located on the back of the title document with:
- Buyer(s) name and address on the assignment line. Up to three names may be listed as owners on a title
- Date of Sale
- Signature of seller signed in dark ink
If the vehicle is jointly owned and the word 'or' appears as the name connector only one signature is required to sell the vehicle. Otherwise, all signatures are required.
The buyer shall complete the following:
- Complete the "Application for Certificate of Title" portion of the title or obtain a separate Application for Certificate of Iowa Title and/or Registration 411007. All buyers must include printed full legal name, Iowa state identification number or social security number and date of birth.
- Purchase price must be declared. If there will be no lien on the new title, print "none" after the words "If none, so state." in the security interest information area. If there is a lien, provide all information as requested in that area.
- All buyers are required to sign the Application for Certificate of Iowa Title and/or Registration 411007 in dark ink.
- The buyer has 30 days from the date of sale to complete the transfer to avoid title and registration penalty. The buyer can only drive the vehicle for 30 days without plates as long as the vehicle is currently licensed and not in the seller's grace month.
How much will this cost? The Fee Estimator Worksheet will give you an ESTIMATE of the fees due.
If the vehicle purchased or sold is 9 years old or newer, what do I need to do?
All of the requirements outlined above for 10 years old or older apply PLUS the odometer reading with the appropriate mileage box checked (actual, not actual or exceeds). The seller completes the odometer reading (no tenths of miles) in dark ink. Titles with an area for a mileage reading must be completed and a separate odometer statement will not be accepted in its place. Be careful when filling in the mileage because an alteration may require a replacement title. The signature and printed name of the seller is required as well as the signature and printed name of the buyer in dark ink.
A model year formula for odometer statements shall be the current year minus 10. The resulting number represents the first model year for which a motor vehicle is exempt from the odometer statement requirements for a title transfer.
If the vehicle purchased or sold is 7 years old or newer, what do I need to do?
All of the requirements outlined above for 9 years old or newer apply PLUS the damage disclosure questions on the back of the Iowa title. The seller checks the boxes. If the Iowa title issue date is prior to 01.01.2005 or it is an out-of-state title, you will need a separate Damage Disclosure Statement (Form 411108) completed. Complete section 1 for an Iowa title dated prior to 01.01.2005 and both buyer and seller will need to sign in dark ink. The damage disclosure for out-of-state titles can be self-certified (section 2 of form 411108) for the first Iowa assignment and only the buyer will need to sign.
A model year formula for damage disclosure statements shall be the current year minus eight (8). The resulting number represents the first model year for which a motor vehicle is exempt from the damage disclosure statement requirements for a title transfer.
Thank you for the great job you have done making tax payments online so EASY! Very well-designed.Madeline T.